Meet the musicians from Marie Clements’ The Road Forward

On June 8th, in support of Lu’ma Native Housing Society, we will be screening the National Film Board of Canada documentary musical The Road Forward from Métis/Dene playwright and director Marie Clements. Clements first conceived of The Road Forward as live performance, premiering the piece in 2010 at the Aboriginal Pavilion of the Vancouver Cultural Olympiad, which ran in conjunction with the 2010 Winter Olympics. “It’s exciting to be marrying music to documentary content,” says Clements.

The film’s original score, composed by Wayne Lavallee, features a powerhouse ensemble including Jennifer Kreisberg, Michelle St. John, Cheri Maracle, Ostwelve, Murray Porter, Russell Wallace and Shakti Hayes. In anticipation of our event on June 8th, we’ve decided to share some of the great work by these talented musicians. (Psst! Some of the musicians will be in attendance at the event for our post-film Q&A.)

Jennifer Kreisberg

Cheri Maracle


Shatki Hayes